Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

How do Ex Cards work in the TCG?

0 votes

I have a Mewtwo and Mew EX. Do I need a regular Mewtwo/Mew to use the Ex card?

asked Dec 31, 2012 by Bro Ashleys Here

1 Answer

0 votes
 
Best answer

No, you don't need a regular Pokemon, to use it as an EX card. They're better and more rare.

Pokémon-ex are typically much stronger Pokémon than the Pokémon they are based on. They usually have significantly higher Hit Points and more powerful attacks. To counter this, a ruling was put in place saying that if one was defeated, the opposing player would be able to take 2 prize cards as opposed to one. As the Pokémon are called ____ ex, you could potentially have four of one Pokémon and four of that Pokémon in ex form in your deck.

Source: Serebii

Hope this helped!

answered Dec 31, 2012 by NO1974
selected Dec 31, 2012 by Bro Ashleys Here