Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

Buneary evolution abilities?

0 votes

If my Buneary has run away when I evolve it which ability will it have as a Lopunny.

Same question for Aipom.

asked Jan 19, 2013 by MrKijani

1 Answer

2 votes
 
Best answer

When Buneary evolves into Lopbunny, Run Away will become Cute Charm. Buneary can have 2 abilities naturally (excluding its Dream World ability Limer), which are Run Away and Klutz. Lopbunny can have Cute Charm or Klutz. Therefore a Buneary with Klutz will have Klutz as a Lopbunny, but a Buneary with Run Away will gain Cute Charm.

The only way a Pokémon can change its Ability is upon evolution. The "slot" storage system means that if an unevolved Pokémon has the "first" ability for its species, it will have the "first" ability of its evolved species upon reaching this stage, even if this Ability differs in the evolved species. In other words, a Poochyena with Run Away would evolve into a Mightyena with Intimidate, while a Poochyena with Quick Feet would evolve into a Mightyena with Quick Feet. If the unevolved Pokémon has only one Ability, but its evolution may have one of two Abilities, then it has a 50% chance of acquiring either Ability (dependent on its personality value).

So with Aipom, Run Away will become Technician, and Pickup will remain as Pickup when it evolves into Ambipom.

Bulbapedia on Abilities

answered Jan 19, 2013 by fondant
selected Jan 19, 2013 by MrKijani
Why do you always answer after me when my answer is BA'ed?!?!
Because I take too long to type... x-x
Dude, it's been at least an hour ==''''
Sorry, I had this page open for a while and didn't notice. And you were only best answered 2 minutes before I posted, and there was another question asked, so I decided to give an answer. It's not 50/50 if Buneary has 2 abilities and Lopbunny has 2 abilities, one of which is the same as its pre-evolution. The only case it will be 50/50 is if the pre-evolution only has 1 ability and its evolution has 2 abilities.
marzipan is right on the nose there.
And then you proceeded to copy his answer. XD
Soooo what happened to JCM's? I probably would've BA this as it's more direct but his answer gave some info as well.
Trach hid it >.>
JCM edited his answer to just be a copy of the bulbapedia quote that marzipan put. So I just hid it because that is pretty point grubby.
Lots of people copy/quote serebii, bulbapedia, etc. And since JCM's was first how did he manage to copy Marzipans (@ your first comment above)? Even if he did edit marzipan got the BA and JCM answered first anyhow. I don't see a problem with it really. But your the editor (And frankly even I'm confused by the rules and reasons sometimes) so whatever.

Though from experience I would not describe JCM as "Point Grubby"
JCM answered first. And answered incorrectly. Marzipan then answered with the correct answer. After I pointed out that Marzipan was right, JCM edited his answer to say exactly what marzipan said. Meaning marzipan answered with the correct answer first. And JCM copied it to try to keep his Best Answer.

And JCM, do you want me to downvote you to the point where you can't flag?
Oh. I didn't know that cause I never saw it after I BA'd it. Ok. Thx for clearing that up for me trachy.


fyi trachy, that's called spam downvoting. Totally not you.