Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

Does Counter effect on Focus Punch?

5 votes

Since Focus Punch will always hit last...

asked Sep 14, 2010 by Wobbuffet33

2 Answers

5 votes
 
Best answer

Okay:

-Focus punch is a priority of -3

-counter is of -5.

the rules say that the lower priority goes last, therefore Focus punch will strike first. It is a damaging move, so it's fair game to counter.

"If the last physical attack to hit the user was from an opposing Pokémon, this attack deals double the damage done to that Pokémon."

answered Sep 15, 2010 by DarkTyphlosion
4 votes

Since you are technically hit after you have already used focus punch, no. You have not been hit so how can you counter it.

answered Sep 14, 2010 by ohioscyther
Are you sure?
Hmm, I'm not entirely sure - Focus Punch has priority -3 but Counter has priority -5 so if they were regular moves, Counter would go afterward.