Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

Does Safeguard protect against self-inflicted Confusion?

0 votes

Lets say you use Safeguard and then Thrash. Will you become confused?

asked Jun 10, 2013 by Jellohamster

3 Answers

1 vote
 
Best answer

Safeguard prevents the user and its party from being affected by any status condition for five turns except those caused by special abilities, held items or self-inflicted statuses.

So no, safeguard does not protect your Pokemon against self-inflicted status.
Source: http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Safeguard

answered Jun 10, 2013 by CWegz
selected Jun 10, 2013 by Jellohamster
Dang my typing skills are terrible.
0 votes

No, it does not.

It does not prevent self-inflicted status such as that from Toxic Orb, or the confusion side-effect of Outrage. -Smogon

answered Jun 10, 2013 by Dr.Flame
0 votes

Safeguard prevents the user and its party from being affected by any status condition for five turns except those caused by special abilities, held items or self-inflicted statuses.

So yes, it will become confused.

Source

answered Jun 10, 2013 by Zorua0