PokeBase Battle Subway Meta-PokeBase Q&A

Is this agaisn't the rules?

0 votes

http://pokemondb.net/pokebase/37525/is-there-any-way-to-turn-off-zoroarks-illusion#a37533

He asked a question, answered it, and gave himself best answer...

Isn't that agaisn't the rules?

asked Jun 29, 2011 by Josh
yeah i dont think thats right... you shouldnt best answer yourself
I gave him best answer.
oh ok thats alright if it was you

2 Answers

3 votes
 
Best answer

If you end up finding out a correct answer yourself, then it is absolutely fine to answer it yourself. Like trachy said you can't give yourself extra points for doing that.

However, I decided to change a few bits around on that question because Hex's answer wasn't really an answer, it was just another question. I edited J98's answer to be slightly clearer and gave that best answer.

answered Jun 29, 2011 by Pokemaster
3 votes

No his answer was correct. As such, he can give himself best answer to show other users that this is the answer to his question. Note that when you make yourself the best answer to your own question, you do not get the extra "Best Answer" points. Also, in this case here I gave Hex's answer best answer. He had misgivings about giving himself the best answer, so I decided to do it for him, for precisely this kind of reason. The only time this is not acceptable is for opinion based questions, which should not have a best answer anyways.

answered Jun 29, 2011 by trachy