Every time you log out, your profile will post that time so users can see if you've been on recently. This can help with Tournaments so users can see when was the last time their opponents logged in.
An optional addition: It says "Logged On" when people are logged in. Sometimes, people will login but not go to Chat, so we don't know if they are not here. Again, Optional.