Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

Does Pressure only trigger when you target the ability-bearer?

0 votes

I was originally going to ask this question but it already existed.
Original Question.
In the answer, there was something about losing extra PP if you use a move like Heat Wave, if you're targeting more than one Pokemon with pressure.

So in a double or triple battle, do you only lose extra PP when you target the Pokemon with pressure?
Also, what happens when you use a move that targets yourself, like substitute?

asked by
edited by

1 Answer

2 votes
 
Best answer

No.

Pressure cannot be 'targetted' at any particular Pokemon, it affects all Pokemon on the field other than the wielder of the ability.

And since while targetting multiple Pokemon with a single attack takes away only one PP, Pressure acts like normal in most situations involving this.

So no matter what happens, an extra PP goes if the Pokemon with Pressure is present on field. And that means all moves, including Status and self-afflicting moves.

Hope I helped!

answered by