Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

Does Yawn fail when the opponent is inflicted with a different status?

0 votes

So lets say I am in a battle with a Dragonair and a Magikarp.

First turn: Dragonite uses Dragon Dance.
Magikarp uses Splash. But nothing happened!

Second turn: Dragonite uses Splash. But nothing happened!
Magikarp uses Yawn on Dragonite. Dragonite is drowsy.

Third turn: Dragonite uses Splash. But nothing happened!
Magikarp uses Will-O-Wisp. Dragonite is burned!

(Just example so chillax.)

^ Now at the end of the third turn, what will happen?
Will the Yawn's effect fail since Dragonite already has burn, or will the Yawn's Sleep status replace Burn since it was used first and (maybe?) locked on to a potential Sleep until switched out?

04.18.2012 4:21p

asked Apr 18, 2012 by Sam Sam Sam Sam

1 Answer

1 vote
Best answer

It will fail since burn is a major status conditon. (Major ones are burn, freeze, paralysis, poison, and sleep.) If the target is confused or some other condition, Yawn will work.
So: Yawn will fail if there is already a major status condition going.
Yawn will work is it is in a different condition besides the Major one's.
To answer your example/question, Yawn will fail.

answered Apr 18, 2012 by Dr.Flame
Had a feeling.
Thanks anyway!