Pokémon Seasons

Seasons are a new game mechanic introduced in Pokémon Black & Pokémon White, and not entirely different from the seasons we get in the real world.

What are Seasons?

There are four seasons - Spring, Summer, Autumn (Fall) and Winter - and each lasts for one month in game as opposed to three months in real life. Furthermore, the times it is light and dark changes in different seasons. The table below describes the effects:

Season Spring Summer Autumn Winter
Months January
Morning 5am - 10am 4am - 9am 5am - 10am 7am - 11am
Day 10am - 5pm 9am - 7pm 10am - 5pm 11am - 4pm
Evening 5pm - 8pm 7pm - 9pm 5pm - 8pm 4pm - 7pm
Night 8pm - 5am 9pm - 4am 8pm - 5am 7pm - 7am


One family of Pokémon change their appearance based on the seasons - Deerling and Sawsbuck (the letters S-A-W-S in Sawsbuck's name comes from the seasons' initials).

Here they are in Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter from left to right:

Deerling's coat changes colour throughout the year.

Sawsbuck's antlers change drastically based on the season.

Route changes

The towns and routes of Unova also change during the year. For most routes it is a basic aesthetic change, as shown to the right. However, a few routes are markedly different in Winter, with snow on the ground. Some piles of snow allow you to access areas you can't during the other seasons. This occurs in Route 8, Icirrus City, Moor of Icirrus, Twist Mountain and Dragonspiral Tower.

Furthermore, different Pokémon are more common or less common depending on the season. For example, Vanillite is more common in Winter. This applies to only to the following routes: Route 6, Route 7, Route 8, Twist Mountain, Icirrus City, Moor of Icirrus, Dragonspiral Tower and Undella Bay.

Spring is much brighter and greener

Summer has a warm feeling to it

In Autumn the trees go brown

In Winter it is cold and barren