Meta Rate My Team PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
0 votes

If a pokemon were to have magic guard and was badly poisoned than the opponent uses gastro acid on it,will it take damage?

asked by

2 Answers

0 votes
Best answer

Gastro Acid's effect: Cancels out the effect of the opponent's Ability.
Magic Guard's effect: The Pokémon only takes damage from attacks.

Yes,it will take damage because Gastro Acid cancels out the enemy ability.

answered by
selected by
1 vote

Yes it will take damage and to add information regarding the badly poisoned status:

If a Magic Guard Pokemon is under the effects of Toxic poison, their Toxic counter still increases normally, even though they aren't taking damage. This means that if the Pokemon loses Magic Guard, the Toxic damage it receives is the same as it would be getting on that turn if it hadn't had Magic Guard.

Meaning, the damage of toxic poison increases even though you are not taking any damage from it because of magic guard so if you lose your magic guard a few turns after being inflicted by toxic, you will be taking much damage from the poison.

source -

answered by
sry although i cant give u the best answer although its a better answer but ur kinda late and i judge the best answer by time so the least i can do is giv u a up-vote :) thx
its okay. =) happy to help
The BA can be changed by clickingon the original BA to remove it and clicking on the new BA