PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
0 votes

So, if you don't have an item, but you opponent does, and you use Trick... Then you basically stealthe opponent's item, or can you not use it if you don't have an item?


1 Answer

1 vote
Best answer

Yes, you will obtain the opponents item, it will not fail, and the target will be left without a held item.

"Switches hold items with the target. This move does not work if the target has Sticky Hold or Multitype, or is Giratina-O, or if either Pokémon is holding Mail. This move works even if the user has no item, but will fail if the user or target has had an item Knocked Off" - Smogon

Trick will also fail if the target is behind a substitut or has the ability multitype and is holding a plate.

Source: http://www.smogon.com/dp/moves/trick

selected by