PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
2 votes

If a Pokemon uses explosion/selfdestuck and they have stury/focus slash, do they faint or have one HP?


1 Answer

2 votes
Best answer

No. Only moves that are directed at the Pokemon holding the Sash or have Sturdy can activate them. Self KO moves don't activate them.

Source: I used to use an Explosion Forretress with Sturdy.

selected by
I never use Explosion....
It's good it you have a Pokemon on it's final stretch to 0 HP, then you can just die and take your opponent with you knowing you probably would have died anyway. Forretress is a prime example of this as it can take attacks with Sturdy and is slow, so it works well with it.
Yeah, I guess it could have it's advantages.