PokéBase Rate My Team Meta-PokéBase Q&A
0 votes

Google Chrome has blocked your access to this page on pokemondb.net .
Content from b.localpages.com, a known malware distributor, have been inserted into this page. Visiting this page now will very likely infect your computer with malware.

Malware (n.) malicious software that causes identity theft, financial loss, etc.

Whoa, what's going on here? I know this probably isn't your problem, but I've tried uninstalling a whole bunch of suspicious programs, and I have no one else to turn to. HELP ME!

BTW, it also blocks my access to Wikipedia which isn't supposed to run ads... Strange.

If you don't want me here anymore, hide this.

asked by
edited by
Does anyone else have this problem? I have to stop the page from loading just before it finishes.
It doesn't happen to me...
I probably have some weird program in my computer....I'll try restarting it. If that works I'll hide this.

1 Answer

5 votes

We do not have any content from localpages.com anywhere on this site. I checked all of our settings for the ads (Google Adsense), every ad that gets displayed here is logged so I can see what appeared. There is nothing from that domain.

Since you said that it appeared on Wikipedia too, which doesn't have any ads whatsoever, it sounds to me like your computer is infected with malware that is doing something to your browser or the pages you visit (changing/adding adverts or something else).

If you visit Bulbapedia a lot it's possible you could have got infected from them. Google recently blocked them as having malware (from their adverts I think)

If you don't have any virus scanner on your computer, DOWNLOAD ONE RIGHT NOW. This one from Microsoft is free: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/security-essentials-download
They also have a specific malware tool here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/security/pc-security/malware-removal.aspx
Spybot is well-regarded too: http://www.safer-networking.org/dl/ (click free download link)

answered by
Awwww, f#$%.... Restarting it didn't work either.
I do visit Bulbapedia a lot, and it does the same thing to it....Damnit! I have Microsoft Security Essentials and it says my PC is protected....weird. Even the link at the malware removal thing is acting up. This is gonna be tough...
Yeah, 33.3% of my bookmarks have this block thing on it. There's something wrong with my computer.
Try a different computer if you have one and see what it says. If all the same sites are fine, then it's definitely the first computer.
YESSSS! Found it. I had REALLY bad extensions in my web browser. Got rid of the lil' suckers. Also ran a scan on my computer. I fixed it. Problem solved.
Try doing a anti-virus scan.