PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
0 votes

If my Buneary has run away when I evolve it which ability will it have as a Lopunny.

Same question for Aipom.


1 Answer

2 votes
Best answer

When Buneary evolves into Lopbunny, Run Away will become Cute Charm. Buneary can have 2 abilities naturally (excluding its Dream World ability Limer), which are Run Away and Klutz. Lopbunny can have Cute Charm or Klutz. Therefore a Buneary with Klutz will have Klutz as a Lopbunny, but a Buneary with Run Away will gain Cute Charm.

The only way a Pokémon can change its Ability is upon evolution. The "slot" storage system means that if an unevolved Pokémon has the "first" ability for its species, it will have the "first" ability of its evolved species upon reaching this stage, even if this Ability differs in the evolved species. In other words, a Poochyena with Run Away would evolve into a Mightyena with Intimidate, while a Poochyena with Quick Feet would evolve into a Mightyena with Quick Feet. If the unevolved Pokémon has only one Ability, but its evolution may have one of two Abilities, then it has a 50% chance of acquiring either Ability (dependent on its personality value).

So with Aipom, Run Away will become Technician, and Pickup will remain as Pickup when it evolves into Ambipom.

Bulbapedia on Abilities

selected by
Trach hid it >.>
JCM edited his answer to just be a copy of the bulbapedia quote that marzipan put. So I just hid it because that is pretty point grubby.
Lots of people copy/quote serebii, bulbapedia, etc. And since JCM's was first how did he manage to copy Marzipans (@ your first comment above)? Even if he did edit marzipan got the BA and JCM answered first anyhow. I don't see a problem with it really. But your the editor (And frankly even I'm confused by the rules and reasons sometimes) so whatever.

Though from experience I would not describe JCM as "Point Grubby"
JCM answered first. And answered incorrectly. Marzipan then answered with the correct answer. After I pointed out that Marzipan was right, JCM edited his answer to say exactly what marzipan said. Meaning marzipan answered with the correct answer first. And JCM copied it to try to keep his Best Answer.

And JCM, do you want me to downvote you to the point where you can't flag?
Oh. I didn't know that cause I never saw it after I BA'd it. Ok. Thx for clearing that up for me trachy.

fyi trachy, that's called spam downvoting. Totally not you.