PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
0 votes

Carbink's safeguard states "Prevent all effects of attacks, including damage, done to this Pokemon by your opponent's Pokemon-EX."
Jolteon EX has Swift which says "This attack's damage isn't affected by Weakness, Resistance, or any other effects on your opponent's Active Pokemon."
Jolteon attacked Carbink. I ruled that Swift works due to the "or any other effects" wording on the card. Did I rule correctly?

asked by

1 Answer

0 votes

Think of it as Carbink is the defensive Pokemon and Jolteon is the attacking one. Safeguard prevents all effects of attacking. Jolteon who has swift can bypass it, cancelling out the effects of Safeguard. So, you DID rule correctly because you bypassed its effects and

A similar question was asked on pokebeach: Source

Hope I helped! :)

answered by