PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
1 vote
202 views

"Grounding" means when the flying Pokemon is affected by ingrain, smack down, thousand arrows, or iron ball. Please don't question my curiosity.

by
edited by
What about gravity?
Sky drop always fails in gravity.
I just tested it. Flying-types still take no damage from Sky Drop even when grounded.
Which game did you test in?

1 Answer

–1 vote
 
Best answer

Yes, It does not work on a flying type Pokemon that has been Sky-Dropped.
If the Second turn of sky drop activates before the Pokemon gets Grounded, it will work
If the First turn of sky drop is the same turn as the sky drop, it will fail.
Source:
https://replay.pokemonshowdown.com/gen7doublesou-1064446163
So yes, it will always fail if the target is grounded before sky drop hits

by
edited by
The replay answers my question, but everything else in the answer doesn't make a lot of sense. In the second sentence, does "the Pokemon" mean the user or the target? In the third sentence, the first turn of sky drop is always "the same turn as the sky drop", right? So does that mean sky drop always fails or what?
Sorry, edited it
> If the Second turn of sky drop activates before the Pokemon gets Grounded, it will work
> it will always fail
How can both of these be true?
If the First turn of sky drop is the same turn as the smack down, it will fail.
okay (filler)