PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
0 votes

Because in the calculations STAB comes first so that makes it 90 which causes Technician to not come into effect but people say it does.
So what is it?

retagged by

1 Answer

0 votes
Best answer

Here's some basic math.

Bug Bite's BP = 60
Technician boost = +50%
STAB boost: 1.5

Therefore, total Base Power = 60 + 50% of 60 x 1.5

= (60 + 30) x 1.5
= 90 x 1.5
= 135 BP

selected by
I was wondering. But STAB comes first right? In that case Bug Bite would be 90 BP before technician can come into effect right?
Technician takes into account the original Base Power, disregarding STAB. So the boost still applies.
Oh ok thanks! :D
FYI, STAB increase **damage** 1.5 times, not Base Power
I'm pretty sure it's base power, not damage.
No it is damage, wanna bet??
"Same-type attack bonus, commonly abbreviated as STAB, is a 50% boost to the power of an attack when the attack is the same type as one of the types of the Pokémon using the attack. This results in a 50% increase in damage (100% if the Pokémon has the Adaptability Ability)."