PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
–12 votes

Gen 1 was the original generation, so there were no earlier Pokemon to add evolutions to.
In Gen 2, they added Crobat, Pichu, Cleffa, Igglybuff, Bellosom, Politoed, Espeon, Umbreon, Slowking, Steelix, Scizor, Kingdra, Porygon2, Tyrogue, Hitmontop, Smoochum, Elekid, Magby, and Blissey.
In Gen 3, they added Azurill and Wynaut.
In Gen 4, they added Budew, Roserade, Mismagius, Honchkrow, Bonsly, Mime Jr, Happiny, Munchlax, Mantyke, Weavile, Magnezone, Lickilicky, Rhyperior, Tangrowth, Electivire, Magmortar, Togekiss, Yanmega, Leafeon, Glaceon, Gliscor, Mamoswine, Porygon-Z, Gallade, Probopass, Dusknoir, and Froslass.
In Gen 5, they made a region with no old Pokemon in it. However, this is hardly a reason not to add more evolutions, because Diamond and Pearl managed to add several that could only be obtained after obtaining the national Pokedex.
I thought that they were going to add continuations every even generation, but in Gen 6 they only added Sylveon. I was rather disappointed. Why aren't they doing this anymore? Is it because Mega forms are simply "in"?

edited by
And that has to do with this because...
I want down-votes because it seems to be the only way that I get attention around here. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
i beleive the limit(if there is one) is 99
Thanks. Keep it up. You're doing great.

1 Answer

2 votes
Best answer

Likely because they want to save as many ideas as they can for later generations. Mega Evolutions are the new and easy trend for Game Freak at the moment because they don't have to think of much to keep the game fresh.

selected by
Ahh, I like your idea about Gamefreak bring lazy. I'll wait before selecting this though.