PokéBase - Pokémon Q&A
2 votes
491 views

I was playing Pokemon Showdown, and was giving my Gastrodon a moveset. My sister came along, asked what the arrow was, and I told her it was to change it's color. I clicked it and said I should use the green one (East Gastrodon). I used it in battle, but after that I realized it was illegal... yet still valid?

by
This is probably something you ask showdown or smogon technical, not us.
Also, the form doesn't impact the moveset at all.
Both forms should be able to learn rock slide, so this is probably a Showdown! bug. You can try asking this question here: https://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/ask-simple-questions-here-read-original-post-before-posting.3520646/
What format was this on?
Also, what was the moveset and item?
When did Showdown! tell you that east Gastrodon with rock slide is illegal?
There’s a difference between the 2 forms in movesets?

2 Answers

2 votes

The game might’ve gotten confused by the two, Pokemon showdown tends to get forms incorrect. This has happened to me before, it’s fine. Just occasional bugs that get into the game.

by
If it happened to you before, which forms and which move did it happen with?
Yes it has happened to me, just how this question states it, except I noticed it at the end of the battle when I was going to battle again, and I saw my East Gastrodon with rock slide.
0 votes

My Gastrodons can learn rock slide perfectly fine. Maybe this glitch was fixed.
source

by