Meta Battle Subway PokeBase - Pokemon Q&A

Does STAB stack with the ability Technician?

0 votes
1,670 views

Does a move that already has 60 power get boosted by STAB and boosted again by Technician?

asked by
edited by

2 Answers

0 votes
 
Best answer

Of course it does.

Why wont it?
If a STAB move has 60 BP and is used by a Pokemon with Technician (60x1.5x1.5) , its base power will be 135.

Source - basic understanding of STAB and Technician.

answered by
selected by
Why won't it? Well maybe GamerOrange thought that if a move with a base power of 60 or less got a 1.5x raise due to STAB and became greater than 60 then you wouldn't get the boost from Technician. This is only not true because the base power of a move is calculated before the STAB is applied and this includes the boost from Technician - for moves of the base power 60 or less of course.
60x1.5x1.5.
1 vote

Yes. STAB applies to all normal damaging moves (with certain exceptions like fixed damage moves, etc.).

So a Scizor with Technician will still receive STAB on Bullet Punch.

40 (Bullet Punch BP) x 1.5 (STAB) = 60
60 x 1.5 (Technician) = 90

Source - Game FAQs

answered by
Literally posted at the exact same time. wow.
I was about to say TIED but the new commenting system requires more than 6 characters.